2018-19 WGHA Award Recipients, News (Wilmot Girls Hockey)

OWHA logo
News Article
News Article Image
Apr 24, 2019 | Stacey Dineen | 1465 views
2018-19 WGHA Award Recipients
The Wilmot Girls Hockey Association handed out their annual awards at tonight's staff appreciation event. 

Please see a list of the winners below along with a quote from their nomination. Thanks to this dedicated group of people.

Fan of the Year: Ben Moss
Ben is a fixture at the arena especially for his granddaughter's games (Jade Dittmer).  Ben attends both home and away games and interacts in a very positive manner with parents and fans of the Peewee AA team and other Wolverines teams.

Volunteer of the Year: Mike, Paula, and Tyler Colquhoun.
Mike was head coach of the Atom LL#2 team, Tyler assistant coach, and Paula helped on the bench and in change room every game. They didn’t have any family connection to the team. Mike has coached 4 of the girls the previous year as an assistant coach. They always made practices and games fun, with a focus on fun, fitness, and fundamentals. Mike’s Dad passed away recently, and he was at the game the day after his passing. Very committed to this team and his position as head coach.

Leadership Award: Kyle Bard
Kyle was a great example of leadership for his players on his Midget LL team.  When his daughter suffered an injury that ended her season he remained the team's coach without question and led the team to a very successful season both on and off the ice.  For the association's sock and underwear campaign, he challenged his players to secure as many donations as they possibly could and he matched those donations.

Kyla Kowalik Player of the Year: Kara Cook
Kara has played her entire minor hockey career in Wilmot, demonstrating a strong commitment to her team and teammates.  She served as an assistant captain on the Midget BB this year, energetically leading every cheer coming out of team huddles.  She plays a steady game with a gritty determination to win every puck battle.  She put in her best effort for every game and practice, continually improving her level of play throughout the year.

Jim Fetter Bursary Recipient: Emily James
This years committee selected Emily because of her dedication to the Wolverines hockey association over the years.  Emily was heavily involved in the association's fundamental program for years along with countless other volunteer endeavours with the Wolverines.  Emily also has a continued focus on academics and is taking Educational Support at Conestoga College next year.
Cook's Pharmacy - New Hamburg
75 Huron St, New Hamburg, (Ontario), N3A 1K1 - 519.662.2640
Tim Hortons
Timbits Fundamentals Program Jersey sponsor
Josslin Insurance
A REAL insurance broker. Phone: (519)662-1644, Toll Free: 1-888-567-7546
B-W Feed & Seed Ltd.
183 Mill St, New Hamburg, ON N3A 1K1 - (519) 662-1773
KLT Wealth Management
An independent financial advisor offering a wide range of investment options, tax strategies, cash flow planning, risk management and estate planning.
TLC Pet Food